Participant List

The CyberGIS Center for Advanced Digital and Spatial Studies (CyberGIS Center) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), the American Association of Geographers (AAG), and the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS) will co-lead this program on the UIUC campus July 8-13, 2019. Graduate students and early career scholars will work together in teams on novel solutions to complex problems, taking advantage of geospatial data science and cutting-edge scientific advances and technical capabilities of cyberGIS (e.g., CyberGISJupyter and Virtual ROGER). Participants will experience the types of collaborative and professional interactions that are key to addressing reproducible geospatial problem-solving in the context of computation- and/or data-intensive research involving confidential geospatial data. Topics will include data-driven social and environmental sciences, digital humanities, geospatial artificial intelligence, and remote sensing big data, among others.

We are pleased to announce the following participants for this 2019 cohort, whose participation is funded with generous support from the National Science Foundation.


Alexandra Timmons, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Angela Werner, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Brandon Lieberthal, University of Maine

Chen Liang, University of Kansas

Forrest Bowlick, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Jesse Bakker, University of Minnesota

Jinhyung Lee, The Ohio State University

Kate Vavra-Musser, University of Southern California

Li Yi, University of Southern California

Mehak Sachdeva, Arizona State University

Mohammad Eshghi, University of Oregon

Pu Huang, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi

Xiaonan Tai, University of Utah

Xueqing Deng, University of California, Merced

Yogita Karale, University of Texas at Dallas

Yun Zhao, University of Illinois at Springfield

Zhiyuan Yao, University of Cincinnati

Andong Ma, Texas A&M University, College Station

Bidhyananda Yadav, The Ohio State University

Changzhen Wang, Louisiana State University

David Lafferty, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

James Coll, University of Kansas

Jimmy Feng, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Jinwoo Park, Texas A&M University, College Station

Kiley Heaps, Idaho State University

Megan Coffer, North Carolina State University

Mishka Vance, Hunter College, CUNY

Peng Fu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Weibo Liu, Florida Atlantic University

Xuan Zhang, University of Georgia

Yalin Yang, Binghamton University

Yuanyuan Tian, Arizona State University

Yuqin Jiang, University of South Carolina